The Weekend of Bad Decisions….i mean the NFL Draft…

Hi this is Mel Kiper Jr. here to offer some thoughts on the upcoming draft.

Nowait…I’m not Mel Kiper…I need to quit fantasizing about this guy…its not healthy and probably a little disturbing to my girlfriend…

Anyway…

This weekend marks one of my favorite times of the year with one of the most intriguing events on the sports calendar: The NFL Draft.  I watch the entirety of the draft with great enthusiasm (well, maybe not as much as the actual people in attendance) watching the sagas that are involved within the team war rooms as players they covet are snagged one pick before they could get him.  First and most importantly, the draft and the volatility that is incorporated are almost impossible to predict; so these “draft analysts” know a lot when at the same time they know nothing.  You can talk all about a prospect but nobody knows how every team feels about each prospect, thus no one can predict this paradox of sorts that is the NFL Draft. 

 Well here are some closing thoughts about the NFL Draft before I go on air at ESPN Saturday afternoon

Damn it, I can’t quit doing that!

1. I don’t care what the experts are looking for near the top of the draft in terms of risk/reward but if I’m the Lions or the Chiefs I’m negotiating a contract with Aaron Curry.  He is without a doubt the most complete and steady linebacker in the draft. He’s not going to be the big play guy that is a ball hawk but think more in terms of what Jon Beason is doing for the Panthers; just a hole plugging, stone wall, tackling machine that is necessary for every team to have equipped.  Not every linebacker needs to be that risky, sack king type of player because you need that consistency in any defense.

2. Ramses Barden…6’6…upwards near 230 lbs…my God how could he have not gone to a FCS school.  I predict him to stumble that huge frame into the first round somehow. 

3. The Lions have to dread this time of year when it comes around at this point in the organization.  If they take a wide receiver in the first round of the draft, I will have to punch a lion–an actual lion–out of frustration.  By the way, isn’t it the ultimate irony that they traded away the only wide receiver that amounted to anything the past few years, barring what Johnson may accomplish?

4. I will claim on this blog that I am not a believer in any of the quarterbacks in this draft.  NFL teams that want franchise QB’s need to wait another year when the likes of Bradford or Clausen (who should blossom this year) will be available.  If a gun were to my head I would select Nate Davis in the middle rounds just to take a flier on a QB.

5. The Julius Peppers saga continues…or as much of a saga as one can have in Carolina.  Any way out of Carolina though probably leads through his signing the tender for his contract or else he’s going to find himself back in Spartanburg next July wondering what went wrong.

6. Teams that traded up in the draft to get players last year are looking pretty smart this year as most experts have been bashing the talent in this year’s draft.

7. I’ve seen the rumors that the Saints are looking at the runningbacks very closely looking for a new compliment for Reggie Bush.  I love this in this day in the game as the most successful teams have deployed a runningback by committee appproach.  A Beanie Wells or a late round Glen Coffee selection would really help take pressure off of Reggie Bush who is best used in compliment not feature role i.e. LenDale White at USC.

8. I’m still astounded that Andre Smith can only bench press 225 about 19 times.  I think there was a wide receiver that had more than that, but, the tapes don’t lie, thus Smith will be a top 15 prospect and with good reason.

9. Rey Maualuga is by far my favorite player in this draft.  He has his critics about his character but if I’m a team that needs a defensive spark, I’m going to get this guy.  I really wanted someone to take Zbikowski high in the draft a few years ago for the same reasons that Rey should be coveted.

~ by bleeddukeblue on April 23, 2009.

One Response to “The Weekend of Bad Decisions….i mean the NFL Draft…”

  1. Thank you . you can see NFL fans shop

Leave a comment